Thursday, February 18, 2010

"MIRRORMIRROR


on the wall, who's the fairest of them all?"

HOW ABOUT, fuck your mirror's and let's not look into any of them for the rest of our innocent lives?! Because, seriously. We're sucked in at the usual age of puberty. We understand. You want to see yourself change. Nobody can honestly tell you, "OH! Bradley, when you look in that mirror, you will see the future. YOUR future. You'll be handsome, tan, and tall. You'll be every woman's dream at night. You'll be everything!" It's another story when little Bradley looks into that mirror and sees himself changing for the worst. He looks in the mirror and thinks, "I look so ugly. Do I look this ugly every day? With these worn out bags under my eyes, and these stupid braces, and these hideous zits all over my face. My already peach fuzzed top lip..Damn, I'm starting to think instead of everyone's dream, I'm everybody's worst nightmare."

Let's be real here. I think most people can all relate, even little Bradley.. that we were all a kid once. Everybody was. We've all been to the point where, we could honestly NOT give a fuck. All we would think about are video games like Super Mario Bros and Duck Hunt. Or Zelda, and Pokemon on the old game boy color. Come home to a nice tomboy room and just kick back and watch some Arthur and Zoom. Go to sleep with your hair wet, wake up put no sort of bra on, put on a flannel and jeans and "sneakers" and walk out the door. No mirrors required.

If only..if only we could turn this all back. Hit our little selves in the head and say "NO, THIS IS STUPID. DO NOT LOOK IN THE MIRROR IT'LL CHANGE YOUR LIFE FOREVER!" Impossible! Preposterous! Pish Posh!... but that day came. Where you started thinking about how you looked or how you wanted to impress some boy or girl. When you finally got over the epidemic of cooties, you glanced in the mirror and saw yourself. You saw those tiresome eyes that have been feasting on T.V. and video games since you got home from school, and you saw that uneven hair cut and that hideous dirt under your nails. And finally, you walked away. Walked upstairs and changed yourself forever..

3 comments:

  1. I disagree. Though i did undergo the same horrible pubescent state as bradley, I'm still inclined to play video games and have uneven haircuts and did spruce myself up for a girl, it's girls that have to go through all of the changes. While boy remain exactly the same :D

    I'm just kidding bay, I really liked your blog, and i agree our idea, i just think that you could choose whether or not you want to act your age you

    ReplyDelete
  2. * I agree with your idea, I just think that you could choose wwhether or not you want to act the age that you are

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm sure that broken image wasn't intentional, but I love how it fits here anyway. I think it has a lot more impact than that shotty ol' mirror.

    Yeah though I agree with Derrick for the most part, boys don't tend to change very much. Yes, there's changes, but as we develop, we don't tend to grow up. Well, most of us...

    ReplyDelete